Zabira Banner Header

Luka Modric Wins FIFA Men’s Best Player

Luka Modric wins FIFA Best Player 2018

Luka Modric, Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder has been named FIFA’s Men Best Player for the year 2018.

beats Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to the grand prize at The Best Football Awards on Monday evening.

has definitely had an incredible year after he won his fourth Champions League title with Real Madrid in May, before leading his country to a World Cup final in July and being crowned UEFA Men’s Player of the Year last month.

The Best Men’s Player of the Year award, formerly named the World Player of the Year, has long been dominated by both Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, but Barcelona forward Messi failed to make the shortlist for this years award for the first time since 2006. Neither player was present in London on Monday.

ALSO SEE  FIFA Best Player 2019: Messi Crowned

Juventus forward Ronaldo had won the two previous Best awards before this year, but was beaten to this years crown by his former Real Madrid team-mate and also missed out of the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award to Modric last month.

ALSO SEE  International Friendly: Brazil To Face Nigeria

The Portugal star was nominated after playing a vital part in a third successive Champions League title for Real Madrid last season. He was top scorer in the competition with 15 goals and netted 44 goals altogether for Los Blancos in 2017-18, before moving to Juventus in a deal worth a reported €100 million (£90m/$118m).

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah was nominated after a remarkable year that saw him score 44 goals in 52 games in his debut season with the Reds, after arriving from Roma in June 2017.

ALSO SEE  FIFA Doesn’t Care About Racism In Football – Yaya Toure

The Egyptian icon came up against both Modric and Ronaldo in last seasons Champions League final but was forced off early after suffering a shoulder injury in a coming together with Sergio Ramos. He recovered in time to represent his country at the World Cup in Russia, but was unable to guide them past the group stages.

Salah was rewarded at Monday’s ceremony with the Puskas Award for best goal of the past year

Join our Telegram Group

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy