COVID-19 Omicron: Canada Lifts ban on Travel From Nigeria

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Canadian government has lifted the ban imposed on travel from 10 African countries — including Nigeria.

COVID-19 Omicron: Canada Lifts ban on Travel From Nigeria

Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos at a press briefing on Friday, December 17, said the lifting will take effect from December 18 at 11:59 p.m.

Aside from Nigeria, other countries affected by the Canada travel ban are Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

“With the evolving situation and overwhelming evidence of community transmission of Omicron in most countries around the world, we have taken the decision to lift the specific measures for travellers returning from the 10 countries initially listed. This will be in effect as of December 18, 11:59pm.

While we recognise the controversial nature of such a prohibition, we believe it was a necessary measure to slow the arrival of Omicron in Canada and buy us some time. Given the current situation, this measure has served its purpose and is no longer needed,” he said.

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter

Write A Comment