Burna Boy, Tems Shine With Multiple Nominations At 2023 BET Awards

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Afro-fusion singer, Burna Boy, and Tems has once again made waves in the music industry as he secures an impressive four nominations for the esteemed BET Awards 2023.

Burna Boy, Tems Shine With Multiple Nominations At 2023 BET Awards  The official announcement unveiling the complete list of nominations was made by the award organizers on Thursday, causing excitement and anticipation among music enthusiasts worldwide.

Burna Boy, known for his chart-topping hit “Last Last,” has been recognized in multiple categories, further solidifying his position as a versatile artist.

The categories he has been nominated for include ‘Best Male R&B/Pop Artist,’ acknowledging his remarkable vocal talent and outstanding contributions to the genre.

Additionally, he has been acknowledged in the ‘Video Director of the Year category. Burna Boy’s popularity among fans has also earned him nominations in the ‘Viewer’s Choice’ and ‘Best International Act categories.

Joining Burna Boy in the roster of remarkable artists is the incredibly talented Tems, who has captivated audiences with her soulful voice and impressive artistry.

Tems has received nominations in three distinct categories, namely ‘Best Female R&B/Pop Artist. She has also been acknowledged for her remarkable collaborations in the ‘Best Collaboration’ category.

Furthermore, Tems has secured a nomination in the highly competitive ‘Viewer’s Choice’ category, reflecting the immense support she has garnered from her dedicated fan base.

The BET Awards 2023 also celebrates other exceptional Nigerian artists who have left an indelible mark on the music landscape.

Wizkid, the globally recognized superstar, has received a well-deserved nomination in one category, further solidifying his influence on the international stage.

Rising star Asake has also earned a nomination, shining a light on his immense talent and potential. Ayra Starr, a young and promising artist, has also been acknowledged for her remarkable contributions with a single nomination.

Meanwhile, it comes as no surprise that Canadian singer Drake has emerged as the frontrunner, amassing a staggering seven nominations across various categories. Drake’s unprecedented success and widespread appeal have propelled him to the forefront of the music industry.

The much-anticipated BET Awards 2023 is scheduled to take place on Sunday, June 25, promising an unforgettable night of extraordinary performances and well-deserved recognition for the brightest stars in the music world.

As music enthusiasts and fans eagerly await the prestigious event, all eyes will be on Burna Boy and his fellow nominees, as they represent Nigeria’s thriving music scene on the global stage.


Album of the Year
Anyways, Life’s Great — GloRilla
Breezy — Chris Brown
God Did — DJ Khaled
Her Loss — Drake & 21 Savage
Mr Morale & The Big Steppers — Kendrick Lamar
Renaissance, — Beyoncé

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Ari Lennox
Coco Jones

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
Brent Faiyaz
Burna Boy
Chris Brown
The Weeknd

Best Group
City Girls
Drake & 21 Savage
Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin
Quavo & Takeoff

Best Collaboration
Latto & Mariah Carey feat. DJ Khaled — “Big Energy (Remix)”
Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice — “Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2”
Chris Brown feat. Wizkid — “Call Me Every Day”
King Combs feat. Kodak Black — “Can’t Stop Won’t Stop”
Metro Boomin, The Weeknd & 21 Savage — “Creepin’”
Hitkidd & GloRilla — “F.N.F. (Let’s Go)”
GloRilla & Cardi B — “Tomorrow 2”
Future feat. Drake & Tems — “Wait For U”

Best Female Hip Hop Artist
Cardi B
Coi Leray
Ice Spice
Megan Thee Stallion
Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip Hop Artist
21 Savage
J. Cole
Jack Harlow
Kendrick Lamar
Lil Baby

Video of the Year
“We (Warm Embrace),” Chris Brown
“2 Million Up,” Peezy, Jeezy & Real Boston Richey feat. Rob49
“About Damn Time,” Lizzo
“Bad Habit,” Steve Lacy
“First Class,” Harlow
“Kill Bill,” SZA
“Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B

Video Director of the Year
A$AP Rocky for AWGE
Benny Boom
Burna Boy
Cole Bennett
Dave Free & Kendrick Lamar
Director X
Teyana “Spike Tey” Taylor

Best New Artist
Coco Jones
Ice Spice
Lola Brooke
Dr Bobby Jones

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award
Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin — “Bless Me”
Tamela Mann — “Finished (Live)”
CeCe Winans — “I’ve Got Joy”
Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin feat. Naomi Raine & Chandler Moore — “I’ve Got Joy”
Tye Tribbett — “New”
Yolanda Adams — “One Moment From Glory”
PJ Morton feat. Lisa Knowles-Smith, Le’andria Johnson, Keke Wyatt, Kierra Sheard & Tasha Cobbs Leonard — “The Better Benediction (Pt.2)

Viewer’s Choice Award
Lizzo — “About Damn Time”
Beyoncé — “Break My Soul”
Jack Harlow — “First Class”
Drake feat 21 Savage — “Jimmy Cooks”
SZA — “Kill Bill”
Burna Boy — “Last Last”
Nicki Minaj — “Super Freaky Girl”
Future feat. Drake & Tems — “Wait For U”

Best International Act
Aya Nakamura (France)
Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Central Cee (UK)
Ella Mai (UK)
Ko (South Africa)
L7nnon (Brazil)
Stormzy (UK)
Tiakola (France)
Uncle Waffles (Swaziland)

Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act
Asake (Nigeria)
Camidoh (Ghana)
Flo (UK)
Libianca (Cameroon)
Maureen (France)
MC Ryan SP (Brazil)
Pabi Cooper (South Africa)
Raye (UK)
Werenoi (France)

Lizzo — “About Damn Time”
Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice — “Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2”
Beyoncé — “Break My Soul”
Megan Thee Stallion — “Her”
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever Music From And Inspired By Rihanna & Ludwig Göransson — “Lift Me Up”
Coi Leray — “Players”
Lizzo — “Special”

Best Movie
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Creed 3
The Woman King
Whitney Houston: I Wanna Dance With Somebody

Best Actor
Amin Joseph
Brian Tyree Henry
Damson Idris
Daniel Kaluuya
Demetrius ‘Lil Meech’ Flenory Jr.
Donald Glover
Michael B. Jordan

Best Actress
Angela Bassett
Coco Jones
Janelle James
Janelle Monáe
Keke Palmer
Viola Davis

Youngstars Award
Akira Akbar
Alaya High
Demi Singleton
Genesis Denise
Marsai Martin
Thaddeus J. Mixson
Young Dylan

Sportswoman of the Year Award
Alexis Morris
Allyson Felix
Angel Reese
Candace Parker
Naomi Osaka
Serena Williams
Sha’carri Richardson

Sportsman of the Year Award
Aaron Judge
Bubba Wallace
Gervonta Davis
Jalen Hurts
Lebron James
Patrick Mahomes
Stephen Curry

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter

Comments are closed.