William Ruto Sworn In As Kenya’s President

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

William Samoei Ruto has officially been declared President of Kenya following his swearing-in ceremony, which took place at the Karasani Stadium, Kenya.

William Ruto Sworn In As Kenya's President
William Ruto

He was sworn in by the Chief Judge, Martha Koome, on Tuesday at a ceremony held in the packed Moi International Sports Centre in Kasarani.

Chief Registrar of Judiciary Anne Amadi administered the Oath of Allegiance of the President to Dr. Ruto, and thereafter the Oath of Due Execution of the Office of the President.

Ms. Amadi administered the oath in the presence of Chief Justice Martha Koome, and Attorney General Paul Kihara Kariuki.

First Lady Rachael Ruto was also by Ruto’s side.

Amid cheers from the excited crowd, Ruto swore an oath of allegiance and another oath for the execution of the functions of the office.

Ruto also appended his signature to the corresponding documents, as seen in the live broadcast on Tuesday.

With his inauguration, Ruto becomes the fifth president of Independent Kenya, and the second ethnic Kalenjin after the late Daniel Arap Moi to hold the office.

Kenyans quoted Uhuru as saying, “As a hallmark of our democracy, therefore, I will, before God and my fellow countrymen, handover the instruments of power to our new president at the Moi International Sports Center Kasarani, and with that, the fourth administration will come to an end and the tenure of the fifth administration will begin.”

“My family and I join all Kenyans in wishing the very best to our next President Dr. William Samoei Ruto and extending to him our warmest congratulations for receiving the mandate of Kenyans to lead us as our 5th president.”

The Vice President of Nigeria, Yemi Osinbajo, was also at the swearing-in ceremony. TalkGlitz Media earlier reported Osinbajo had arrived in Nairobi, Kenya for William Ruto Inauguration.

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter

Comments are closed.