Osinbajo Back In Nigeria After Ruto’s Inauguration

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The vice president, Yemi Osinbajo returned to Nigeria on Tuesday night after attending the inauguration of Dr. William Ruto as Kenya’s 5th President in Nairobi.

Osinbajo Back In Nigeria After Ruto's Inauguration
William Ruto, and Yemi Osinbajo

TalkGlitz Media reported the vice president had left Abuja for Nairobi on Monday evening and had represented President Muhammadu Buhari at the landmark occasion.

The Vice President was accompanied on the trip by the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Zubairu Dada; and the Special Adviser to the President on Political Matters, Babafemi Ojudu.

Earlier in the day, Osinbajo described the inauguration of Ruto as a celebration of democracy.

“It is a celebration of democracy and the reasons are obvious, the institutions held up – the IEBC (Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission), the equivalent of our own INEC, and the Judiciary; they held up and ensured that not only were processes properly followed but also that justice was done.”

Osinbajo said on Tuesday while addressing journalists shortly after Ruto’s swearing-in ceremony held at the Moi International Sports Stadium in Nairobi.

“I think that what we have seen here in Kenya and the swearing-in of Dr. William Ruto is really evidence of robust institutions doing what they ought to do,” Osinbajo said.

“It is a great example and we are all extremely pleased. And I’m sure you have seen, from all of the African Heads of State and Governments and their representatives who are present here today, that there is an atmosphere of elation and joy because this worked,” Osinbajo added.

The high point of the occasion was the oath-taking ceremonies by the newly elected President and his deputy – Rigathi Gachagua, as well as the handover of instruments of power and a copy of Kenya’s Constitution from former President Uhuru Kenyatta to Ruto.

The ceremony was attended by 20 African Heads of State and Government and their representatives, including the Presidents of South Africa – Cyril Ramaphosa, Chad – Mahamat Idriss Déby, Tanzania – Samia Suluhu, Seychelles – Wavel Ramkalawan, Uganda – Yoweri Museveni, Rwanda – Paul Kagame, South Sudan – Salva Kiir, Burundi – Évariste Ndayishimiye, Zimbabwe – Emmerson Mnangagwa, and Felix Tshisekedi of the Democratic Republic of Congo, amongst others.

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter

Comments are closed.