Buhari Swears In Six New Permanent Secretaries

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The President, Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in six new permanent secretaries in the Federal Civil Service at the Council Chambers of the State House in Abuja.

Buhari Swears In Six New Permanent Secretaries
President Mohammadu Buhari

The swearing-in ceremony took place on Wednesday, from 10:05 – 10:30 am, just before the commencement of this week’s Federal Executive Council meeting.

The new appointees and their states of origin are Mahmud Kambari from Borno State, Esuabana Nko-Asanye from Cross River State, Lamuwa Ibrahim from Gombe State, Yakubu Kofar-Mata from Kano State, Oloruntola Michael from Ogun State, and Richard Pheelangwah from Taraba State.

While reading the citation of the new officers, Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, said the event marked the culmination of a weeks-long prequalification exercise for directors by the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation.

“Mr. President, six persons have fulfilled the conditions as permanent secretaries after a selection exercise recently conducted for directors.

“This exercise involved competency tests and interactions with a wide range of stakeholders,” he said.

It should be noted that the swearing-in comes barely one month after Buhari approved their appointments. On March 29, 2023, the Head of Civil of the Federation, Dr. Folashade Yemi-Esan, announced that the President had approved the appointment of the six permanent secretaries in the Federal Civil Service following the recently conducted selection process.

After the swearing-in ceremony, the Federal Executive Council meeting commenced with the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Head of Civil Service, Dr. Folashade Yemi-Esan, the President’s Chief of Staff, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, and National Security Adviser, Maj-Gen. Babagana Monguno (retd.) in attendance.

The Ministers of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola; Science and Technology, Olorunimbe Mamora; Finance, Zainab Ahmed; Transportation, Mu’azu Sambo; Agriculture, Mohammed Abubakar; Health, Dr Osagie Ehanire; Information, Lai Mohammed; Mines and Steel Development, Olamilekan Adegbite; Communication and Digital Economy, Prof. Isa Pantami; Sports, Sunday Dare, amongst others, were also present at the meeting.

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter

Comments are closed.