Buhari Nominates Ex-IGP Solomon Arase for Police Service Commission Chair

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The President, Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the name of former Inspector General of Police Solomon Arase (Rtd) to the Senate for confirmation as the new Chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC).

Buhari Nominates Ex-IGP Solomon Arase for Police Service Commission Chair
Solomon Arase

Buhari’s request was contained in a letter read by Ahmad Lawan, the senate president on the floor of the upper legislative chamber on Tuesday.

The president based his request on sections 153 (1) and 154 (1) of the constitution as amended.

Arase, the 18th IGP, retired as the head of the Nigeria Police about a year after President Buhari assumed office.

The former IGP was appointed by former president Goodluck Jonathan.

Arase if confirmed by the senate will replace the former chairman of the commission, Musliu Smith as a substantive Chairman of the police service commission.

In another development, President Buhari also forwarded two names to be confirmed as Resident Electoral Commissioners for Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The new appointees are Dr Mahmuda Isah from Kebbi state whose appointment is for renewal and Dr Mann Omobayi Alli from Ondo State who is for a new appointment.

Another letter received by the Senate is for the appointment of 5 members of the Code of Conduct Bureau.

They are Murtala A. Kankia from Katsina to represent (North West); Zephaniah Ishaku Bulus from Nasarawa to represent (North Central) and Farouq Umar from Yobe state to represent (North East).

Others are, Abdulsalam Taofiq Olawale from Ondo State to represent (South West) and Prof. Juwayriya Badamasiuy from Kogi State to represent (North Central).

Buhari, therefore, urged the Senate to consider and confirm all the appointments in the usual expeditious manner.

The Senate is however yet to take any legislative action on the letters for the various appointments as senators are eager to suspend plenary to join the campaign train of their various political parties for the forthcoming general elections.

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter

Comments are closed.