Oborevwori Floors Omo-Agege, Wins Delta Governorship Poll

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Governorship Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori, as the winner of the gubernatorial election in Delta State.

Oborevwori Floors Omo-Agege, Wins Delta Governorship Poll
Sheriff Oborevwori

Oborevwori defeated Ovie Omo-Agege, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), to be declared the winner on Monday.

The State Returning Officer, Prof Georgewill Owuneri Abraham, who made the declaration at the INEC headquarters in Asaba, said PDP’s Sheriff Oborevwori polled 360,234 votes.

According to him, APC’s Ovie Omo-Agege scored 240,229 votes and LP’s Ken Pela got 48,047 votes.

The returning officer also noted that there were 3, 221, 697 registered voters for the election.

The number of accredited voters was put at 710, 829 while there were 671, 737 valid votes.

The rejected votes were 15, 384 while the total votes cast were said to be 687, 121.

Delta state has been controlled by the PDP since the return to democracy in 1999.

Ifeanyi Okowa, the outgoing governor, was the vice-presidential candidate of the major opposition party.

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More