#NigeriaDecide2023: APC Chairman, Adamu, Loses Senatorial Seat To SDP

The National Chairman of the All Progressive Congress (APC) Abdullahi Adamu, has lost his senatorial seat in the Nasarawa western zone to Ahmed Wadada, the candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

#NigeriaDecide2023: APC Chairman, Adamu, Loses Senatorial Seat To SDPOn Saturday, Nigerians went to the polls to elect a president and members of the national assembly. Adamu was not able to deliver Shehu Tukur, the APC candidate, to replace him at the upper chambers

Wadada scored 96,488 votes to defeat the APC candidate, Engineer Ahmed Tukur, to emerge the winner of the Nasarawa South senatorial district election in the results declared by the Independent National Electoral

Nasarawa South is the senatorial district of the national chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Abdullahi Adamu, the occupant of the Senatorial seat before his emergence as the APC National Chairman

Wada’s result was declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday as the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Labour Party (LP) scored 46,820 and 23,228 votes respectively.

In the same vein, Senator Godiya Akwashiki of the Social Democratic party, SDP was declared the winner of Saturday’s elections for Nasarawa North Senatorial District.

INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Ilemona Adofu, of Federal University, Lafia, declared Akwashiki as the winner with 44,471 votes at the early honour of Monday.

Akwashiki who joined SDP after he left APC defeated the former Secretary of the National Judicial Service Commission, Alhaji Danladi Halilu of the APC, with 32,058 votes.

SDP also won the Karu/Keffi/Kokona Federal Constituency seat of the State in the election as Jonathan Gaza won his reelection seat in the House of Representatives.

INEC Returning Officer for the election, Prof George Genyi declared Gaza, who polled 60,265 votes winner at the Keffi Zonal collation centre in Keffi local government area of the state Monday.

According to Prof. Genyi, PDP’s candidate. Mr Bulus Ishaku, scored 33,180 votes while the LP candidate, Mr Iliya Gambo, pulled 29,665 votes, while the APC candidate, Mr Auta Koro, scored 28, 417 votes.

Recalled that the trio of Wadada, Akwashiki and Gaza had defected from the ruling APC to SDP in protest over the outcome of the primary elections in the party in 2022

Follow talkGlitz on Instagram TalkGlitz on Twitter

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More